Bumping etiquette

I had my first experience with someone trying to bump me to get a better line. I didn’t budge so he came in with his helmet, I saw him coming so I leaned into him. He’s probably 80kg while I’m about 100kg, he bounced off me and clipped his pedal, nearly taking out another rider.

No one crashed but I got some flack for what happened. Apparently he was trying to get onto his friend’s wheel which is why he bumped in the first place; I have no idea how I was supposed to know that since they weren’t wearing the same jerseys. Secondly, as the bigger rider I’m supposed to yield to smaller riders. He said something to the effect of “this isn’t UFC, there aren’t weight classes here to protect smaller riders so the bigger rider is responsible for taking it easy”. I’ve never heard this before but this was also my third practice crit ever, is this just a house rule or is this universal to crit racing?

1 Like

heh. I have no idea as I’m not very experienced in crits, but I would think if you are going to bump someone to take the wheel in front of them you better be able to hold your own. Hard to say how much you leaned back into him. I think you have a right to protect yourself, but we’ve seen Sagan and other’s get flack for “leaning” into people. It’s kind of hard to determine who’s leaning into who so regardless some might fault you, some might fault them. The two things I’d say are one, you don’t have to give up the wheel in front of you and two, you have a right to protect yourself including bracing for contact from someone trying to get physical. His size has nothing to do with it if he’s the one trying to initiate.

8 Likes

If you are a bigger rider, watching smaller riders bounce off you during a race is God’s way of partially making amends for all those times you got dropped on climbs.