Anybody else trashing front derailleurs?

I’ve been using TrainerRoad almost exclusively for about 3 years (around 1,000 hours of indoor training at this point). In that time I’ve replaced my front derailleur twice, and I’m at the point where I should probably do it again. I ride on rollers and use the power-meter on my bike (PowerTap G3 hub). Since I ride on rollers I use my front derailleur a handful of times each ride.

The pattern has been the same in each instance - the derailleur simply gets harder and harder to shift until it simply won’t shift with the lever anymore. Sometimes I can resurrect it with WD-40 and lube and manually working out the stiffness. The problem is definitely with the derailleur itself and not the shifter or the cable. I’m at the point now where I’m spraying some WD-40 on it after every ride which seems to be working pretty well.

I’ve never had my sweat rate tested, but I surmise that I’m a bit above average. I can only conclude that the occasional drop of sweat that hits just the right spot on the derailleur is to blame for the stiffness over time which, while annoying, makes total sense to me. I’m mainly curious if anybody else has experienced this. I searched the forum but found no other posts about this.

1 Like

that’s why I went to this setup seven years ago – a fixie and a powertap hub. less to sweat-nuke.

I kill an Ultegra front mech each year. The rear gets about two years (sweat I can’t clean out of the spring unless I remove it, which I am too lazy to do)

2 Likes

What’s a “front derailleur”?

Ok, got that out of the way.

I’d try putting a blob of grease on the pivot and spring, effectively “sealing out” sweat.

4 Likes

I’d suggest using something better for lube, like Tri-Flow or something similar. I’m no fan of WD for use in a bike.

Then consider if you have sufficient cooling. Dripping large amounts of sweat is not desired for a number of reasons, and damage to bikes is a key one.

2 Likes