2024 LoToJa Information

Just here trying to get all the information I can about LoToJa. I’m new to racing/endurance rides but a long time commuter and casual rider, played collegiate sports, and just like being active. I know I need a lot of training and nutrition knowledge. I’m using TrainerRoad to train (as of Sept '23) and hope to get in with one of Huntsman Hero’s spots. I’m in SLC so I’m training in our canyons as well, but I’ll take any advice. Thanks!

2 Likes

This ought to get you going. Plenty of vids on YT about this event as well. https://youtu.be/eXy3JhJor0I?si=l63LvhjrBg2p2ySi

Awesome, thanks!

I did LoToJa in 2021 and 2023. Its an absolutely amazing experience. I train with a friend who has done it the last 4 years. We are based in Houston. Obviously the flat ground here is an issue, but we get more heat training for whatever that is worth. In addition, trainerroad is awesome for building power and training for the climbs. It was pretty cool passing riders from UT on the climbs…all because of trainerroad.

We do the Gran Fondo training program basically year round. We usually do 2 -3 indoor rides during the week and then a 45 - 75 mi outdoor on Sat. We really ramp up our training around May / june where we ramp up to 80 - 100 miles nearly every Sat through Aug.

The race is awesome, and very challenging. Pick the right group. The group will stay together until the Strawberry climb begins and then it thins out. No one stops at the preston stop, so i carry 3 bottes to start and throw one away at preston. After that, keep up your nutrition and look for friends to draft. Make sure you have a good plan and good crew to meet you. I could go on and on, but best advice is learn nutrition, and train your body to be in the saddle for a minimum 10 hrs depending on your fitness / strength. Just finishing is awesome.

6 Likes