Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews
Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews

Review TrainerRoad

* Indicates Required Field

About You

Your email will be used to verify membership with TrainerRoad and to follow up with any questions regarding your review.

Review

Your Cycling Background

  • Road
  • Triathlon
  • Mountain Bike
  • Cyclocross
  • Track
  • Recreation
  • Commute
  • 0-5 Years Experience
  • 6-10 Years Experience
  • 11-20 Years Experience
  • 21+ Years Experience
  • iOS (iPhone & iPad)
  • Android (Phone & Tablet)
  • Windows (Desktop)
  • Mac (Desktop)

Select all that apply

This section will be shared with TrainerRoad only and will not show up in your review.

WORKOUTS AND COUNTING

HERE’S WHAT RIDERS SAY.

Leave a Review

3 weeks ago

My TR Fitness Level has Increased...Yeah!

So this weekend Saturday May 4th, 2019 was our annual eastern shore ride. It is the Eagleman 70.3 bike course which is a 56 mile ride that was really fun but the best part…I was faster and stronger then the guys I rode with. I knew it within the first 5 miles into the ride. As we were riding along at 19mph one guy said this pace was hurting him. We had just started out and he said he thought it was harder riding outside than in a virtual environment (riding Zwift for his training). I knew right then I was faster as I was feeling good, but just kept my poker face and all of a sudden I could hear Coach Chad in my head saying, stay relaxed, stay in the drops, light over the top and pull, use the 4 pedaling quadrants, and keep your sit bones on the saddle. Listening to the Podcasts, listening to Nate and Jonathan talk about their races, and I let those voices in my head take over. So, I let the guys set the pace and drafted off them for the most part. I would take pulls but didn’t push it until mile 45. I then began to increase the pace. At the 50-mile mark I was close to making it under 3hrs, which was another goal (Beat last years’ time of 3:28hr). I increased the pace and they could not keep up. I was able to ride them off my wheel. That was very satisfying as I knew I could maintain 20-22mph the last 5 mile. I finished the ride at 2:59:05. The training programs which TR provides has made me a faster, stronger rider. Thank you guys!, great podcast, and training workouts. Keep up the excellent work, I can now share my secret with the guys I ride with. I am already ahead of them and will continue to train with TR and listening to your podcasts. Your podcast makes my DC commute so much more bearable...and less stressful. Maybe I will look at racing next year or sign up for one later this year, we'll see.

Scott S. / United States

4 months ago

I hit my goals with TR!!

I started using TrainerRoad after a recommendation from a friend. I had bought a Wahoo Kickr and wanted some structured training. I had goals to get to GBR age-group triathlon qualification (which I’ve done, thanks TR!). The structured training programs, gradual build and challenging yet engaging plans make it so easy to commit to and actually complete. Compliment this with the essential listening podcast and my training didn’t just become structured but, educated. I’ve since bought books based on recommendations, tried a number of training ideas that actually work for me and resolved some minor niggles through prevention. I don’t know how to recommend TR more without it sounding cheesy! I’m sure there are some excellent comparable products but, for me TR simply works and I love the data it gives me! Great work TR team!

Ed / United Kingdom

4 months ago

Amazing

So first of all I love the podcast and it gives a lot of helpful tips. I love the programs I can do, because there are only so many preset up workouts on Zwift and I love the variety. Overall Great!

Katie S. / United States

4 months ago

Best Cycling Podcast by FAR!

Outstanding! Provides a wide range of information related to all aspects of cycling, health, nutrition, and general fitness ... very beneficial for ANY serious cyclist or triathlete!

Kevin / United States

4 months ago

Don't waste your time... use TrainerRoad instead!

This is the biggest thing for me. I don't have a lot of time between family (2 small kids) and work. I HAVe to make the best use of my time, and indoor training is where it's at! When you compare indoor training software, nothing comes close to Tr's specificity and progression across plans. Add in the new calendar and analytics and it's just pure gold!

Nate / United States

4 months ago

I wish 4.5 stars was an option...

Giving only 4 stars feels a bit harsh but for me TrainerRoad isn't perfect to warrant 5 stars. I was drawn to TrainerRoad back in 2014 and have been a user on and off ever since with only the past couple of years using seriously. Initially it was the ability to follow other workouts from Graeme Street (Cyclo-Core) and then Sufferfest workouts (before they had their own platform and they were removed) that pulled me in. As I got more serious about training and wanting to target specific events that's when I found the benefit of TrainerRoads own plans. They cover every scenario and volume level I will ever need although I would like to see them introduce more non trainer workouts that are of benefit to cyclists as supplemental to their current plans. The podcast has been an invaluable source of knowledge over the past few years and I think I've pretty much listened to every episode now. Recently the introduction of the calendar and ride analysis features has really been a huge improvement and I know longer have any need to pay for Strava because of this. The forum has also been a welcome addition and is way better than using Facebook for posing questions to fellow subscribers. So why not 5 stars? Well the plans are 5 star and the only feature I can find fault with (and this may not even be TrainerRoads fault) is the Powermatch feature when using a power meter alongside an erg mode trainer. I know I'm not the only one with frustrations on this as there is plenty of comment on this in the forum and a feel it's an area that needs improvement. I'm cautious of being over critical given TrainerRoad don't make powermeters or trainers so it's always a matter of integrating with 3rd parties which can be difficult. That being said I am using pretty popular and mainstream products so not a home built products I'm expecting TrainerRoad to integrate faultlessly with. The other item that pulls down the rating is previously mentioned regarding the addition of non trainer workouts as an additional option. Looking forward to what new features are coming in 2019.

Phil C. / United Kingdom

5 months ago

TrainerRoad makes you faster, period

TrainerRoad took me from an overweight underperforming cyclist and turned me into a machine! I'm down 50 pounds and up almost 100w on my FTP.

Steven M. / United States

5 months ago

Exceeded my Expectations

I am predominantly an outdoor rider. So, before I decided to purchase TrainerRoad I posed the question in the forum, "Is TrainerRoad worth it for a predominantly outdoor rider?" Within 2 hours I had over 20 comments providing insightful and helpful advice from the TrainerRoad community. I was immediately sold. I have just completed 9 weeks of training and find the workout plans provide a healthy amount of training stress and rest. The calendar and the performance analytics are user friendly and intuitive. One of the best things is the TrainerRoad Podcast: Amazing balance of training science and banter-Absolutely the best!

Devin D.

5 months ago

Best for all cyclists needing a "push"

Been a paying subscriber since day one (2011 ?) and have tried all the other options but nothing keeps me motivated as the workouts in TR.

Bill D. / United States

5 months ago

GREAT value for money !!!!

I started using trainerroad 3 months ago and improved my FTP 15% . Before i was riding outside and doing a lot of "junk" miles now with trainerroad i can achieve BETTER results in a shorter time . Consistently measuring your progress is a great motivator and keeps you focused. It's not only a great software tool but they also have great resources like their forum where everybody is happy to help !

Thomas D. / Belgium

5 months ago

Structured training made easy

I say easy, you have to be prepared to commit to the plans and turn up for the session but other than that, it's training made easy. The sessions are challenging, varied and you can focus on specialties as you progress. This is my second year as a TR user and I can honestly say that I'm enjoying it. The more I use TR the more I learn about myself as an athlete and this encourages me to focus. Would I recommend TR to someone looking for structured training? Without hesitation. Has it made me faster? I'll let this seasons results be the judge of that!

Nick C. / United Kingdom

5 months ago

Coach Chad is a bargain

I am an amateur cyclist who was looking for a better way to get in shape than just making up my own routine. Trainer Road gives you access to science based structured training at a fraction of the cost of a personal coach. Highly effective, strongly recommended.

Brent M. / United States

5 months ago

Best Training Product Available

Quite simply the guys at TrainerRoad know what they’re doing. From training plans to podcasts with the added bonus of the performance analytics, calendar and great community this will make you a faster cyclist. Trust in the process and you will achieve your goals & beat your competition!

Lewis R. / United Kingdom

5 months ago

Life changing

As a long term trainerroad user of about 6 years, I can say without exaggeration that it has been life changing. Firstly it enables me to have efficient and effective exercise to maintain my health within a busy lifestyle, and secondly it has improved my fitness hugely. I even used it to rehab from a femur fracture, and it gave me a way to monitor improvement, which helped from both a physical and psychological perspective. The product is great (and continually improving), the support is exceptional (there are no other products or services I can think of where raising a support query leaves me with a good feeling!), and the guidance from the trainerroad team via the podcast is entertaining and useful. All in all I can't praise the trainerroad team enough, well done.

M B. / United Kingdom

5 months ago

Brevity is the Soul of Wit and TrainerRoads Secret to Success

2017 was the fastest and strongest riding season I've had since getting back into cycling in 2007. Winters brought mixed feelings about going to the basement to get on the bike, but a new smart trainer and a new subscription to TrainerRoad turned the "all-to-frequent" debate in my head about riding or doing something else, as I descended the stairs, into an "I can't wait to ride my bike on the trainer" experience. A perfect system for the time crunched cyclist (The Brevity). So many plans and ways to customize your training. Winter training and, frankly, year round indoor training became a whole new world. I love it and I WILL NEVER QUIT MY SUBSCRIPTION unless I'm dead or can no longer ride a bike. I hope the former comes before the latter.

Lance K. / United States

6 months ago

The best purchase you can make....

Having ridden for approximately 10 years, I really learned to understand value in cycling especially when you are trying to advance (weather towards a race, or a basic 1/2 century). Of all the tools I've picked up over the years, TR is by far the best "bang for your buck". I have multiple power meters, race wheels, aero helmet, etc, and I tell everyone START WITH Trainer Road... then progress to the others. I have a busy schedule in the ER and Trainer Road allows me to know exactly how much, when, and why... leaving me time to concentrate on the other aspects of my life, not just noodling around wasting time. Try a year of TR, and trust me, you won't ever look back!

Tyson C. / United States

6 months ago

Freshman Fourty

My journey began as a track and cross country athlete in high school. I was competitive enough to make it to state every year here in Alabama. When it came time time to graduate, I moved off to college and quit exercising completely. After only 5 ish months from my last track meet, where I ran a 50.95 400 meter split, I had gained the freshman 40. Now this is commonly mistaken as the freshman 15, but is most definitely different. I couldn't even scratch my back and don't get me started on tying my shoes.So I attempted running again, and of course tried to pick up where I left off in my then "glory days." You can guess what came with that... Injuries. So since my family had gotten into cycling, I decided to spend some of that college loan money on a something important like a bike instead of all of that education stuff. I mean do you really need books for classes anymore? Being the super competitive people that my brother and I are, we quickly began betting who could get the best W/kg average. Now being the young gun with an unbreakable mentality, I destroyed myself with the improper structure another platform offered. My brother, the nerd engineer that he is, ingeniously found the Trainerroad Podcast and gave it a try. Once I switched over, the impacts were incredible. I shed the weight and am starting to climb the ranks in my area for the roadie life. So thank you, Trainerroad, for providing me the invaluable tools necessary to tear off these competitors legs.

Cody M. / United States

6 months ago

Best cycling training tool on the market

Started using Trainerroad just over a year ago and haven't looked back. Have made solid performance improvements following the training plans going from a FTP in the mid 200 to currently 309 (4.2W/kg). What's more, Trainerroad has made massive improvements on their product in the last year including performance analytics and the new calendar feature, making it easier to plan ahead and review rides and whole periods of training afterwards. This all without breaking the bank. And one last thing, their customer service is wonderful, quick to reply and very helpful. Have recommended Trainerroad to several people but the best advertising is people seeing the improvements riders have made by using trainerroad.

Kristof V. / Australia

6 months ago

Just what I needed to rebuild after surgery

I had a drastic hip reconstruction about 7 years ago. After LONG rehab I wanted to see if I could once again qualify for Triathlon AG World Champs. I had a very short amount of time to train for the qualifying race. I decided TR was the best use of my time. I went all in! It worked. I qualified. I then had 7.5 mos. to train for worlds. Again totally relied on TR to allow me to perform at my very best. Ended up 5th in the world (50-54) and 2nd fasted US athlete. More importantly, my cycling was way way faster at this age (52) than when I was last at worlds pre-hip surgery (43). Thank you for this incredible gift.

Jennifer H. / United States

6 months ago

Would Highly Recommend

I highly recommend TrainerRoad. I started cycling in 2015 and in the winter of 2016 I found TrainerRoad. It has completely transformed me as a rider. In the winter I religiously follow the Sweet Spot Base 1 & 2 plans, followed by Build. I went from a Beginner level racer to an Expert level racer and I owe my fitness gains to TrainerRoad. I now use it year round to help increase my fitness and to perform intervals. People can have Zwift as I’ll stick with TrainerRoad.

Jason C. / United States