Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews
Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews

Review TrainerRoad

* Indicates Required Field

About You

Your email will be used to verify membership with TrainerRoad and to follow up with any questions regarding your review.

Review

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

10 being very likely, 1 being unlikely

Your Cycling Background

  • Road
  • Triathlon
  • Mountain Bike
  • Cyclocross
  • Track
  • Recreation
  • Commute
  • 0-5 Years Experience
  • 6-10 Years Experience
  • 11-20 Years Experience
  • 21+ Years Experience
  • iOS (iPhone & iPad)
  • Android (Phone & Tablet)
  • Windows (Desktop)
  • Mac (Desktop)

Select all that apply

This section will be shared with TrainerRoad only and will not show up in your review.

WORKOUTS AND COUNTING

HERE’S WHAT RIDERS SAY.

Leave a Review

5 months ago

Very Helpful

I bought myself a Wahoo Trainer and was ready to rock and roll. I researched the most common training apps. I settled on TrainerRoad. I could not be happier. Customer support is excellent and the FAQ section is easy to use. I am a sales person not an I.T. person. I have added a training plan to the calendar they provide. TrainerRoad dumbed down the software enough for a simple person like me to use flawlessly. I am going to recommend TrainerRoad to the 1647 members of my triathlon group.

Allen / United States

6 months ago

My TR Fitness Level has Increased...Yeah!

So this weekend Saturday May 4th, 2019 was our annual eastern shore ride. It is the Eagleman 70.3 bike course which is a 56 mile ride that was really fun but the best part…I was faster and stronger then the guys I rode with. I knew it within the first 5 miles into the ride. As we were riding along at 19mph one guy said this pace was hurting him. We had just started out and he said he thought it was harder riding outside than in a virtual environment (riding Zwift for his training). I knew right then I was faster as I was feeling good, but just kept my poker face and all of a sudden I could hear Coach Chad in my head saying, stay relaxed, stay in the drops, light over the top and pull, use the 4 pedaling quadrants, and keep your sit bones on the saddle. Listening to the Podcasts, listening to Nate and Jonathan talk about their races, and I let those voices in my head take over. So, I let the guys set the pace and drafted off them for the most part. I would take pulls but didn’t push it until mile 45. I then began to increase the pace. At the 50-mile mark I was close to making it under 3hrs, which was another goal (Beat last years’ time of 3:28hr). I increased the pace and they could not keep up. I was able to ride them off my wheel. That was very satisfying as I knew I could maintain 20-22mph the last 5 mile. I finished the ride at 2:59:05. The training programs which TR provides has made me a faster, stronger rider. Thank you guys!, great podcast, and training workouts. Keep up the excellent work, I can now share my secret with the guys I ride with. I am already ahead of them and will continue to train with TR and listening to your podcasts. Your podcast makes my DC commute so much more bearable...and less stressful. Maybe I will look at racing next year or sign up for one later this year, we'll see.

Scott S. / United States

7 months ago

Best in Class

Great product to effectively train towards your cycling and triathlon goals. People at TrainerRoad are striving for faster riders and great user experience, with a very large array of training, great planning tools, allowing a good platform for trainer and riders alike. Check also their Podcast "Ask a Cycling coach - Trainer Road" on your favorite podcast app for in-depth advice and tricks to become faster, smarter and have fun doing it Professional engineer working on a professional product. 5* all day

Jasmin T. / Japan

9 months ago

A member since 2013 when it was beta

I stumbled across TR many years ago, would love to actually know what number member I was, bet it was low. I love it, love the structure, love the in ride instructions and it has kept me being able to define myself as a cyclist through years of very busy times. I even played around with other products for a while, you know the ones, but the structure wasn't there. Then I stumbled over the podcast, consumed the whole back catalogue over 18 months. 5 stars from me, love it love it love it.

Shane D. / New Zealand

9 months ago

I hit my goals with TR!!

I started using TrainerRoad after a recommendation from a friend. I had bought a Wahoo Kickr and wanted some structured training. I had goals to get to GBR age-group triathlon qualification (which I’ve done, thanks TR!). The structured training programs, gradual build and challenging yet engaging plans make it so easy to commit to and actually complete. Compliment this with the essential listening podcast and my training didn’t just become structured but, educated. I’ve since bought books based on recommendations, tried a number of training ideas that actually work for me and resolved some minor niggles through prevention. I don’t know how to recommend TR more without it sounding cheesy! I’m sure there are some excellent comparable products but, for me TR simply works and I love the data it gives me! Great work TR team!

Ed / United Kingdom

10 months ago

Don't waste your time... use TrainerRoad instead!

This is the biggest thing for me. I don't have a lot of time between family (2 small kids) and work. I HAVe to make the best use of my time, and indoor training is where it's at! When you compare indoor training software, nothing comes close to Tr's specificity and progression across plans. Add in the new calendar and analytics and it's just pure gold!

Nate / United States

10 months ago

TrainerRoad makes you faster, period

TrainerRoad took me from an overweight underperforming cyclist and turned me into a machine! I'm down 50 pounds and up almost 100w on my FTP.

Steven M. / United States

10 months ago

Structured training made easy

I say easy, you have to be prepared to commit to the plans and turn up for the session but other than that, it's training made easy. The sessions are challenging, varied and you can focus on specialties as you progress. This is my second year as a TR user and I can honestly say that I'm enjoying it. The more I use TR the more I learn about myself as an athlete and this encourages me to focus. Would I recommend TR to someone looking for structured training? Without hesitation. Has it made me faster? I'll let this seasons results be the judge of that!

Nick C. / United Kingdom

10 months ago

Coach Chad is a bargain

I am an amateur cyclist who was looking for a better way to get in shape than just making up my own routine. Trainer Road gives you access to science based structured training at a fraction of the cost of a personal coach. Highly effective, strongly recommended.

Brent M. / United States

10 months ago

Everyone is faster than me, I'll never be as fit as them....

Your heart is racing, legs weak and wobbly, and the rest of your riding buddies are heading on up that hill you dread. This isn't any fun, and you'll never be as fast as them will you? sure they've been riding for years! Think again. TrainerRoad works, simple. All you have to do is commit and be consistent in your training and you *will* see improvements. Signing up and committing to a TrainerRoad plan is the single best thing I have done to improve my ability on the bike. I wish I had done it years ago. The structured training plan takes you through two phases of sweet spot work to build a solid base, after that you move on to building your power and then speciality, depending on your chosen discipline. The options for training are varied but revolve around a common theme of hard but repeatable efforts that can be completed without dedicating hours and hours to your ride. Most workouts take place over a course of 60-90 mins and are designed to give the maximum benefit in the least amount of time, and give you a quick recovery so you can train again the next day. TrainerRoad is more than just an app, it's a motivational tool, support structure and social environment. The team publish a weekly podcast 'dedicated to making you a faster cyclist' that is a great source of motivation and learning. The website is crammed with useful information and blog posts, and the forum is a great place to share, be inspired and also see for yourself how people just like you have seen huge gains in their fitness and speed. If I can give one bit of advice it is be consistent in completing your workouts and plans, with TrainerRoad that is the key to success. If you do that you won't go far wrong. and you'll be at the front of the pack when cycling soon enough.

Jon S. / United Kingdom

10 months ago

Best bang for your buck if you want to be faster

You can spend money on gear to make you faster, but we all know how that goes. Last year was my first year on TR and I can't tell you how much of a difference it made in my performance on the bike. The structure and the progression that is built into TR is specifically designed to make you faster and it works. With the new calendar and their constant integration of new features TR is the place all of the cool kids go to get faster!

Michael R. / United States

10 months ago

Trainerroad's simple and easy method of giving indoor training sessions some structure, which results in faster real-world times

Trainerroad gave me a simple and easy method of giving the indoor training sessions some structure. This last year I have also been following the training plans, and they are well rounded and they give measurable results. I really like the "simple" no-frills design that does not require a lot from the hardware or the idiot running it.

Stefan F. / Norway

11 months ago

Best cycling training tool on the market

Started using Trainerroad just over a year ago and haven't looked back. Have made solid performance improvements following the training plans going from a FTP in the mid 200 to currently 309 (4.2W/kg). What's more, Trainerroad has made massive improvements on their product in the last year including performance analytics and the new calendar feature, making it easier to plan ahead and review rides and whole periods of training afterwards. This all without breaking the bank. And one last thing, their customer service is wonderful, quick to reply and very helpful. Have recommended Trainerroad to several people but the best advertising is people seeing the improvements riders have made by using trainerroad.

Kristof V. / Australia

11 months ago

Best Training Platform Bar None

Over the course of my cycling career I’ve been exposed to a multitude of training platforms and even gone so far as to pay for expensive coaches. None of them have come close to providing the results that trainer road has. This year I followed the Sweet Spot Base high volume plan to prepare for my road season and added over 30-Watts to my FTP. In 8 years of training and racing I’ve never experienced an increase like that. Currently, I’m following the Cyclocross specialty plan and and have been consistently placing in the top 10 of the Masters Catergory 3 fields here in Colorado. Between the plans, the podcast, and the new calendar feature TrainerRoad is the best training platform for the buck. 5+ stars!

Rob H. / United States

11 months ago

Just Plain Works

There may be other “flashier” trainer programs out there, but only one with the breadth of training plans that you get with TrainerRoad. Not only does it make you faster, their service has always been prompt, courteous, and helpful when I’ve needed assistance.

Sean M. / United States

11 months ago

The best investment that you can make in yourself and your training

There are quite a few training tools and 3rd party apps on the market and I have tried the majority of them. However, I have landed and will continue to use TR as my primary cycling training app. TrainerRoad's primary purpose both as a company and as an app is to make you faster and it is succeeding! Using their structured and specific workouts, I have turned my triathlon bike leg from a limiter to a strength. My FTP is now close to 5 watts/kg with a sub-hour Olympic distance tri-split. I know TR is going to help me well surpass the 5.0 watt/kg barrier and my lofty race split goals. I have relied on their vast database of workouts for both my own training plans as well as the athletes whom I coach. If I cannot find exactly what I am looking for, then I can easily create one through TrainingPeaks or through TR's workout builder. I have not used their training programs but looking over them, they look like quality programs that can be easily customized to your needs and current ability from beginner to Cat 1/2. While I have rarely had any issues with setup or use, when I do, their support team is always there to help and have gotten back to my requests promptly and respectfully. Like the athletes who use their software, they are constantly improving, and I am looking forward to seeing the future updates they are going to launch.

Chris H. / Canada

11 months ago

TR helped me complete a Century with 10k+ feet of climbing

I first started indoor training in 2014 and after the first year got bored since I didn't have anything to follow along to. In 2015 and for a few years after I started using TR primarily during the off-season to keep up my base training for the following outdoor road season. TR worked great for this as my fitness level definitely improved and was reinforced by the numerous comments I received that my riding strength had improved. This year I decided to fully commit to following the full training program in preparation of my first century with 10k+ feet of climbing. Following the program though the base, build and specialty phase worked flawlessly and gave me the confidence to tackle this accomplishment knowing I had put in the work. Without TR I couldn't have completed the necessary preparation to this event!

Andrew B. / United States

11 months ago

Don't waste your time

When I started cycling competitively I spent hours upon hours trying to hit heart-rate zone targets. Constantly at a super high cadence I was essentially hosting my own spin classes. While my cardio was great, my legs didn't know what it was like to put out high, sustained wattage. I could ride forever, but didn't have much power to back up the endurance. Switching to trainer road truly changed by training and cycling performance. The tactical feedback of power ensure that I'm immediately in the zone I need to be, and putting down the performance I need to be to get better on the bike. Now the endure is coupled with an ability to sprint, climb, and surge as needed. I recommend trainer road to anyone who rides a bike without a basket on it.

Nico D. / Canada

11 months ago

Best Value Cycling Coaching and Training There Is

I've been using TrainerRoad for about 6 months now, 3 of which with a new born baby. I'm the fittest on the bike and most committed to training now than I ever have been since I started using TrainerRoad. The ability to train at home and be available to my family if needed halfway through a session is the main reason I decided to start training indoors on a trainer with TrainerRoad. Listening to the Ask A Cycling Coach podcast made me confident that the TrainerRoad plans were thoroughly researched and would be effective in improving my fitness. Now 6 months later I can definitely say that they work! I've completed some long rides (180km rides) no problems and started criterium racing and have podiumed in a bunch of those too. There's no more time efficient way to get fitter and stronger on the bike than with TrainerRoad in my opinion and definitely no cheaper way to get access to the depth of knowledge put into the training plans.

Kendrick W. / Australia

11 months ago

The #1 best way to become a faster cyclist

Since getting serious about triathlon training just over two years ago, TrainerRoad has helped me go from an FTP of 220W to a best of 275W (4.4W/Kg). Having a structured training plan to follow really helps you get motivated about your workouts, and seeing your power PBs being updated as you progress through the plans adds further motivation. For me, TrainerRoad has been a key element in my Ironman-distance triathlon racing development. Through structured training I have been able to transform my cycling which was previously somewhat of a weakness for me, to a strength, thereby allowing me to achieve a fast bike time AND still be in a good position as I start the run leg. This year achieved the fourth fastest bike split in the Japan Ultra-Long Distance Triathlon National Championships on my way to finishing in second position overall. This would have been imaginable before starting structured training with TrainerRoad, when I rarely finished in the top 30 bikers in equivalent triathlons. I cannot recommend TrainerRoad enough. If you're willing to put in the work, it will make you faster. Period. Additionally, the support from staff and forums when required is excellent, and should serve as an example for other companies to follow.

Greg H. / United Kingdom