Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews
Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews

Review TrainerRoad

* Indicates Required Field

About You

Your email will be used to verify membership with TrainerRoad and to follow up with any questions regarding your review.

Review

Your Cycling Background

  • Road
  • Triathlon
  • Mountain Bike
  • Cyclocross
  • Track
  • Recreation
  • Commute
  • 0-5 Years Experience
  • 6-10 Years Experience
  • 11-20 Years Experience
  • 21+ Years Experience
  • iOS (iPhone & iPad)
  • Android (Phone & Tablet)
  • Windows (Desktop)
  • Mac (Desktop)

Select all that apply

This section will be shared with TrainerRoad only and will not show up in your review.

WORKOUTS AND COUNTING

HERE’S WHAT RIDERS SAY.

Leave a Review

4 weeks ago

Very good software!

Used it to significantly improve my FTP and performance over the winter, and now use it outside! Highly recommend

Maxim L. / United States

5 months ago

Amazing!!!

The information provided in these podcasts is amazing! Very well researched and explained well. I specifically like how even when they do not agree with a certain type of training, or style of dieting, they still uphold the merit of that fad, or what have you. Intermittent fasting for example - Coach Chad talks about how intermittent fasting is extremely effective in losing weight; referencing Jason Fong multiple times, but it is not effective for endurance athletes like us cyclists. It gives us looking for answers a unique understanding of what is essential for cyclists to maintain performance and increase FTP, W/kg, or whatever it is we seek, rather than focus on what can help you attain the best results with a certain factor of racing, i.e. weight. The other thing I enjoy is the race results, as well as the guest starring of THOR - Pete. It's nice to have real world contribution from a Pro Conti rider! 5+ stars for these guys! Amazing content and always fun to see them at my local races.

Griffin N. / United States

5 months ago

Mills 1 year ago versus Mills today

December 2017 I was goofing off with TR just doing a mixture of workouts. Canceled in February when the weather improved. I also didn’t understand what structured training really meant. Fast forward to today, nearly finished with SSB MV2 (now understanding structure). I completed Mills and felt great, even increased it 5% for the last set! I then saw in January 2018 I attempted Mills and failed mid-way through the second set at an FTP 30 watts lower than it was today. Wow. Thank you TrainerRoad for making me awesome. I definitely will not be canceling this February :heart:

Randi A. / United States

5 months ago

From 2.5w/kg to 4.35w/kg

TR hurts in the pain cave but it makes you faster - for sure. You'll beat guys with 5000km or more on the road because - not all TSS are created equal. On peak times, I ended up on roughly 4.7w/kg - on the same trainer with the same bike settings. This is fun on the roller and even much more outside!

Matthias / Switzerland

6 months ago

Amazing

So first of all I love the podcast and it gives a lot of helpful tips. I love the programs I can do, because there are only so many preset up workouts on Zwift and I love the variety. Overall Great!

Katie S. / United States

6 months ago

Everything you need to get fast

The massive workout library and the well thought out plans make TrainerRoad a great fit for 99% of athletes out there. Stick to the plan, listen to the podcasts, look after yourself outside of training and racing and you WILL get faster with TR. It's that simple.

Justin H. / Australia

6 months ago

GREAT value for money !!!!

I started using trainerroad 3 months ago and improved my FTP 15% . Before i was riding outside and doing a lot of "junk" miles now with trainerroad i can achieve BETTER results in a shorter time . Consistently measuring your progress is a great motivator and keeps you focused. It's not only a great software tool but they also have great resources like their forum where everybody is happy to help !

Thomas D. / Belgium

6 months ago

Best Training Product Available

Quite simply the guys at TrainerRoad know what they’re doing. From training plans to podcasts with the added bonus of the performance analytics, calendar and great community this will make you a faster cyclist. Trust in the process and you will achieve your goals & beat your competition!

Lewis R. / United Kingdom

8 months ago

My first experience with TrainerRoad was before my 2nd season as a competitive cyclist. Coming from a long running soccer career I was still testing the waters and beside my bike I was hesitant to dive in financially. TrainerRoad was recommended to me from a team mate, I didn’t have a power meter or smart trainer but using the estimated power and a consistent routine I was able to follow an entire training plan. The low cost wasn’t intimidating and was equal to what I would have paid for a common gym membership. My first season racing, I could barely hang on during group rides and was dropped almost immediately in the two races I entered. After TrainerRoad I wasn’t only able to hang on to the pack I won with a 20 mile solo breakaway.

Tyler H. / United States

8 months ago

TrainerRoad really works

With extremely limited time due to regular short duration international travel TrainerRoad is the only way that I can possibly keep myself in good cycling form. Not only has it helped me grow my FTP from 180 to 239 on the low volume plan it means that I don't get dropped on group rides when I am able to get outside. The new training calendar is a great addition to the platform and means that I no longer need a separate platform. The integration of the training plans into the calendar now means that I can easily move my workouts around my travel and minimise the impact on my training. Couple this product along with the fantastic content on the TrainerRoad Podcast I can truly say that TrainerRoad makes you faster.

Matthew R. / United Kingdom

8 months ago

As a father of a two daughters under three and new to cycling, I turned to TrainerRoad to fit some exercise into my constrained schedule. I started with a simple goal to stay in shape during the winter and maybe be able to hang in some local group rides in the spring. After going through TrainerRoad’s plan progression this last half year, I'm quite happy with the results. It led to me increasing my FTP by 85 watts while losing 9 lbs. Riding the local hills is much more fun at 3.5 Watts/kg than it was at 2.25 Watts/kg. Now, I don't just hang in the local group rides but lead them up the climbs. Mission accomplished!

Ryan G. / United States

8 months ago

Improve beyond expectations

The fundamental principles of training are woven into the fabric of the Trainer Road experience. Which is a good job, as even though those principles are relatively simple they are extremely difficult to apply in practise when you are new to cycling/triathlon and have a regular busy life to fit in around your sport. The structure, consistency and periodisation of the plans provided by TR not to mention the new calendar and informative podcast (which you don't actually need a subscription to listen to) take care of all the elements one needs to improve fitness month after month, season after season. Trust in the plans and all you have to do is the work! You will get faster. Promise.

Henry A. / United Kingdom

8 months ago

Would Highly Recommend

I highly recommend TrainerRoad. I started cycling in 2015 and in the winter of 2016 I found TrainerRoad. It has completely transformed me as a rider. In the winter I religiously follow the Sweet Spot Base 1 & 2 plans, followed by Build. I went from a Beginner level racer to an Expert level racer and I owe my fitness gains to TrainerRoad. I now use it year round to help increase my fitness and to perform intervals. People can have Zwift as I’ll stick with TrainerRoad.

Jason C. / United States

8 months ago

TrainerRoad has really elevated my cycling game. As a dedicated user looking forward to — yes I said looking forward to — starting my 3rd season I highly recommend TR to all cyclists. No matter what level you are at today tomorrow's will be elevated thanks to TR.

Jeff S. / United States

8 months ago

Self coached - went from decent triathlon age grouper to racing professionally with the help of Trainer Road

Absolutely love TrainerRoad. I went from having very little cycling background in 2013 to recently getting my Pro card. All of my rides on my TT bike are indoors, and all are with TrainerRoad. One thing that I don't think is discussed frequently is the mental stamina that using TR can bring. While Zwift and other options seem "fun" and like you can get in a good workout, I feel like TR not only keeps my training extremely focused, but it provides a much closer simulation to race day - you need to lock in your power and stay mentally focused. I've been using TR for 4 years and plan on continuing for many more!

Todd B. / United States

8 months ago

Perfect for time-crunched with family priorities

I liked the "Ask a Cycling Coach" podcast so much that I signed up for 2 months of TrainerRoad. This is significant because my region is well-known for consistent weather year-round that's suitable for outdoor riding. After training on my own for 2-3 years, I became very confused about programming workouts, and really desired for my limited training availability to be invested in a worthwhile manor. It was so nice to simply follow a plan and not have to worry about what workout would be beneficial. What's more, training time for an 8-5 employee with family priorities is scarce, and every minute of availability has to count! I did the full mid-volume general power build and went from a ramp test of 273 to 301! With that, I have been on the podium at weeknight crits and set a Power PR at a recent 40km Time Trial. Going forward, I will turn to TrainerRoad whenever I seek to get serious about training and set personal records.

Matthew N. / United States

8 months ago

Freshman Fourty

My journey began as a track and cross country athlete in high school. I was competitive enough to make it to state every year here in Alabama. When it came time time to graduate, I moved off to college and quit exercising completely. After only 5 ish months from my last track meet, where I ran a 50.95 400 meter split, I had gained the freshman 40. Now this is commonly mistaken as the freshman 15, but is most definitely different. I couldn't even scratch my back and don't get me started on tying my shoes.So I attempted running again, and of course tried to pick up where I left off in my then "glory days." You can guess what came with that... Injuries. So since my family had gotten into cycling, I decided to spend some of that college loan money on a something important like a bike instead of all of that education stuff. I mean do you really need books for classes anymore? Being the super competitive people that my brother and I are, we quickly began betting who could get the best W/kg average. Now being the young gun with an unbreakable mentality, I destroyed myself with the improper structure another platform offered. My brother, the nerd engineer that he is, ingeniously found the Trainerroad Podcast and gave it a try. Once I switched over, the impacts were incredible. I shed the weight and am starting to climb the ranks in my area for the roadie life. So thank you, Trainerroad, for providing me the invaluable tools necessary to tear off these competitors legs.

Cody M. / United States

8 months ago

Great community, great product

This is my second season training with TrainerRoad. It is undoubtedly the best of its kind in cycling training. It has changed my world. I take my fitness and health overall more seriously, because I can really see that the investment in my training is working. I’m faster, stronger, safer, and having more fun than ever before. It is a great investment in my fitness and health. The software in and of itself is great and accessible for all manner of cyclist, but there is a global community of cyclists with which to share and learn. You can come in at any fitness level, even with basic equipment and see gains in weeks. I’ve never considered myself a podium qualifier, but I sure have fun training like one... and I have even started seeing that as a possibility! I’ve shared TrainerRoad with several friends who are now active users and having the same positive experience. Five stars, keep up the good work there at TR!

Stephanie B. / United States