Workout Intensity

I’m new to cycling. Picked up a bike at the start of the summer; a turbo not long after. Spent the summer working towards a pair of half-marathons I wanted to PB in, with the idea that once the running was out of the way, I’d take a month off and start working on the cycling, following the low-volume Sweet Spot plans before transitioning over to the half Ironman*.

While the plan was for it to be a period of active recovery, I’m wondering if I should be concerned about how quickly my ‘fitness’ is tapering off, according to this chart:

(You can two build and taper sections for the 3rd and 5th races on the chart)

I suspect it’s probably just vanity, but I guess my heart isn’t being as taxed cycling as it was running. I notice long(er) outdoor rides offer a spike, but even the 90 minute turbo sessions don’t spike it much. I feel it in my legs, but not my heart. I appreciate it’s not wise to build and build and build, but was hoping that I’d almost be in maintenance mode.

• Ol’ muggins here took part in a sprint duathlon and liked it so much, he went ahead and entered himself in next year’s Ironman 70.3 Staffordshire.
  1. The chart above appears to be from Strava? Just trying to confirm where and how you are analyzing your data.

2. What exactly are you doing for your cycling workouts? You don’t mention any specifics about workouts or training plans you follow.

3. Are they based on a FTP test to set your training zones? You don’t mention how you are setting intensity or duration in your bike/trainer workouts.

Basically, you haven’t given much detail about what you are actually doing, so we can’t really help without more info.

1. Just from a common sense perspective, look at how much volume you had in August, September and October compared to now. Should it really be any surprise that your fitness is dropping?