Why Rotating Weight Doesn't matter

Just wondered if anyone else had watched this - quite interesting though of course coming from GCN i took it with a pinch of salt…but if the science backs it up…

4 Likes

Follow the money…

A guy representing a company that sells aero wheels that are heavier than similar aero wheels from other manufacturers tells me that (rotating) weight doesn’t matter… And the proof for that is a simulation (not an actual IRL experiment) which is not available to the public…

Additionally I find the assumptions - at least for my use cases - not fitting. I don’t race / ride TTs on closed roads. I ride often in cities with unfortunately a lot of breaking and accelerating.

I mean, I’m no engineer. He could be right. But if something smells like marketing BS and sounds like marketing BS, I don’t have to stick my finger in it and lick it to figure out if it’s marketing BS.

13 Likes

Like you i’m very suspicious - just be interesting to hear where the basis for rotating weight being worse came from in the first place and what that was based on.
Aero does seem to be a saving if you’re doing lots of flatish rides anyway.

Some google junk:

3 Likes

Whats the TL:DR consensus? :relaxed:

1 Like

@mcneese.chad thanks for the google junk :slight_smile:

2 Likes

This has been going on for decades.

If constantly accelerating/decelerating then rotational weight is an issue. If not, then no biggie as it’s overall weight that counts.

7 Likes

in this case i’ll let it die - sorry wasn’t as aware it had done to death. That’ll teach me for falling for a GCN vid. :scream:

2 Likes

Sounds like the GCN content is pretty solid, based on @d_diston’s tl;dr and all Chad’s google junk?