When to start training TT outdoors before race

Hi - I have a 70.3 (first triathlon) coming up in a little under a month from now, but I have been training indoors on my tri bike since November. I’ve never ridden my tri bike outdoors, and was wondering when I should start getting in miles to practice handling and maintaining efforts without ERG mode. In my area, the landscape is rolling so I’m not sure how descents would impact power targets if I try to do workouts outdoors. I’m currently doing the high volume full distance plan, and feel like my fitness has been increasing pretty steadily throughout this season.

Do you have any regular TT races or a series in your area? That would be a good place to start. I have one every week in my area (two venues, alternating weekly).

Hmm… I’m not too sure as I am relatively new to cycling as well (~1 year). I’ll be in the Maryland area, but there’s usually always heavy traffic until you head west towards the Appalachians. I’ll be able to head out to the race location about two days before the race, where I plan on riding part of the course beforehand.

Have you ridden a tt bike or clip ons before @btsaubt ?
When I was brand new to them and had the courage of youth I fitted clip ons the day before a club tt and was fine but now I’m older despite being a old hand, I think things through more. I need a ride or two solo just to get use to the handling, then a couple of weekly club tt’s (intermixed with more solo practice) before a bigger event just to feel as psychologically comfortable/confident as I did when I was younger :rofl:

Yes, you want to ride your bike outdoors if for nothing else to know how it handles and you have a feel for the speed in the aero position, especially if the course has any technicality. I also find that while my power indoors vs outdoors on the road bike is nearly the same except for sprints, it’s nowhere near the same on the TT bike.

Where in MD are you?

1 Like