When did you realize you were a cyclist? Share your story

The other day my wife was talking with a friend over the phone and referred to me as a “cyclist”. It was a little bit of a surprise to hear that word for the first time because I’ve never thought of myself as a cyclist.

And I’m not…

I just got on a bike again about a year ago, after so many years, now in my late 30’s. But it immediately brought back all these happy childhood memories. Back in the day when my brother and I shared the same little bike and that was pretty much the only toy we had because we were poor (and only because it was a gift from the church my parents used to go to). Days and days of fun riding around the block with friends.

Since then I started riding every day and just couldn’t stop. But of course, up to a few months ago, my bike was still an old MTB and, yes, I was riding with jeans, t-shirt and regular shoes on flats. Smashing those pedals at 70rpm (now I know about all my sins, so what? :slight_smile: ) and simply enjoying time with myself. Eventually, I got a road bike, a trainer, and joined TrainerRoad to start this wonderful journey and hopefully keep on learning from this fantastic community.

But I don’t feel like a cyclist. Yet. And that’s OK. I’m here for the long term.

So, how did you become a cyclist and what was your eureka moment?

2 Likes

I hate to break it to you, but…you’re a cyclist.

5 Likes

When my wife bought me a set of cycling bibs and jersey for my birthday. She still calls them “butt shorts” and occasionally accuses me of looking like a mandrill monkey, but her acceptance that this a hobby of mine solidified it for me.

3 Likes

Now I want mandrill monkey bib shorts.

4 Likes
3 Likes

My 4th ride. On my 3rd ride I got talked into doing a 60 mile ride. My first two rides were less than six cruising miles with no water bottles or food (I didn’t think I needed “those things” lol), but I was excited to be out riding.