Weights and TR in off-season

Hi, i know there are like 100000 threads on this but I couldn’t quite find what I was looking for. And my experience with this Forum is that many many smart people are on it who can answer this easily! :grinning:
So I’m older and have been very neglectful of lifting. So I started lifting, using the guidance of material in this forum (squats and deadlifts, slowly increasing so I am now at a weight where I can do 4-8 reps). I do get some significant DOMS but I’m adjusting.
However, I find that I can do SS or threshold workouts (mainly SS or like 96% FTP) without problems but, if I go above that (sustained like Lamarck or VO2 level workouts or more), I am totally fried and feel overttrained/exhausted/fatigued. I love getting stronger but my question is:
Can I use this time (nov-feb or so) to work on my strength and do plenty of 1 hour SS rides (Carson, Ericcson, Turrabora, etc), thus “resting” my legs but still working on my bike fitness prior to moving into higher intensity biking and less resistance exercise in march? Or is it critical to still do higher intensity bike workouts at this time, in which case I better do RE less often?
thank you, forum, in advance!!

The short recommendation is: dial back the workouts to Endurance and Tempo while you ramp your strength training and include SS when you are sufficiently rested to do so (i.e. don’t drive through muscular pain).