Sunday rides feel awful?

I’m new to trainer road and at the end of my second week of mid volume ssb. Been finding the 3 weekday rides not hard at all, the Saturday ride (though I do on Friday because my schedule is shifted back a day) tough but manageable, but both last week and this week have got up to do the 2nd weekend ride and just found any intensity too much.

Prior to TR I was using zwift 5 days a week so I feel like the volume shouldn’t be an issue, but not sure what else could be the problem?

Trainer Road will feel different to Zwift or outdoor riding because it’s introducing you to sustained interval work. Just pushing on the pedals non-stop for 10-20 minutes at a time makes such a huge difference. But it’s a really efficient way to train and it’s really good for you!

If you’re struggling, I would either swap the Sunday ride for a 90 minute Z2 ride (e.g. Townsend), or do it the other way round - swap to a low volume plan and then fill in the “gaps” on Wednesday and Sunday with similar Z2 riding.

1 Like

There’s a cumulative load being applied through the plans but I’m surprised you are suffering from it at the end of the second week, or indeed the first unless you are carrying a lot of fatigue already. You also need to consider life stresses: work, relationships, etc. It’s unusual for someone to nail every single workout, especially if their FTP is in the right ball park, but struggling on lower intensity efforts indicates something isn’t right. You don’t say how old you are or general cycling/training background.