Sickness/injury/ lack of progress

Hey guys! So, I started Trainer Road in late September. Since then I have been through two base phases and one build phase. I picked the rolling road race plan since it seemed versatile. I gained two watts during each base phase. I was a bit disappointed but was really looking forward to my upcoming build phase to finally see some real progress! After completing my build phase my FTP decreased by 1 watt. (Sad face) For some background information, I’ve been cycling consistently since May 2020 until I was hit by a vehichle in March 2021 and returned to the bike June 2021. My injuries were aggravated during my second base phase and I had to take a week off. I was back on the bike pretty quickly and I have now integrated my PT exercises into my training. I also fought off a bad cold during my build phase but was able to keep on track with my training and slept extra to combat fatigue. As an additional factor, my work has been extra stressful recently, not much I can do there. I prioritize my sleep, I fuel my workouts, I space out my strength work and my bike rides by at least 3 hours. I feel like I’m doing all the right things … What am I doing wrong? Do I simply need to give this more time? Did I have too many things working against me? Could I be bad at the FTP test? Or am I just doomed to suck for forever? Please help!!!

Probably just fatigued. Your FTP shouldn’t decrease. But it’s really hard to give you info w/o seeing your training calendar and determining if you’re as consistent as you say you are.

1 Like
  • Maybe nothing?

Just take a look at what your wrote above. Any one of those alone could be a good reason for stalled progress. Couple any one or all of them and I see a decent reason to expect results like you got or worse.

• If you mean waiting to see “FTP gains” maybe.
  • Those items above are not helping, that is for sure. Unless you can address some of all of them, it’s hard to make any predictions.