Recovering from Covid

I am quite new to TR, and have been very impressed with the system and my gains.
Therefore, I am keen to keep to the program, and was upset at getting Covid last week for more than the typical reasons. Looks like I am getting out of the woods, though, as my temperature has receded to almost normal levels.

So, two questions.

Has anyone else here recovered from Covid, and if so, how fast did you get back on the trainer? Should I have any worries about taxing my lungs?

How do I adjust my training schedule after missing a week? As of right now, I plan to just cram them up in the next few weeks -I am on a low-volume plan, so this is possible. Bad idea? Good idea? Any other ideas?

4 Likes

Don’t play catch up, and speak to a doctor for medical advice, if you can!

For any illness, come back gently - it’s not like there’s any hurry now is there?

11 Likes

Speak to a health professional would be the first step.

Good luck in your recovery

3 Likes

Once you get the OK from a medical professional to exercise, do not start off with the low-volume plans.The low volume plans make up for volume with intensity, and that’s probably not what you should be doing right now. Instead you should be re-introducing exercise very gently with zone one or possibly low endurance rides (z2). Also listen to your body and don’t try to push it. Allow yourself to properly recover from the illness.

7 Likes

Good points. I was already thinking about throwing in one or two low-intensity workouts.

However, as far as seeing a doctor, I am in New York, and am loathe to tax the medical system unless I display severe symptoms. Too many people need help to keep from dying for me to see a doctor about exercising. My ex is a doctor, and my next step will be asking her.

3 Likes

I’m nearly over it, my plan is to have a recovery week and then back to were I left off

1 Like