Preparing for a 600km week - Tips needed

Hey everyone,

I have been riding with a power meter for about 3 years and I ride approximately 10 to 13 hours per week. I have tried following trainerroad’s high volume sweetspot base plan before but I failed to follow the plan due to lack of motivation. I now follow a low volume plan and then add volume to it by joining group rides which are in the mix of zone 2 and 3(power). I was inspired by the Rapha festive 500 challenge but I live in Canada so the cold weather made it difficult to go out and ride in late December
:joy: .

I want to cover a distance of 600km in a week later this summer and my training so far has been on track i.e 100% compliant. My training started with sweetspot base low volume 1 > sweetspot base low volume 2 > Short power build low volume and I am currently doing the century plan (low volume). I ride for 6 days a week and I handle 600 to 700TSS per week. My FTP is 308W and I weigh 70-72kg. Given the heat, I now use 2 x 750ml watter bottles to keep me hydrated which makes a huge difference as I noticed that the cardiac drift after 2 hours is less than what it used to be when I was dehydrated. I use cliff bars as a source of carbohydrates to fuel my rides and it has been working perfectly. I tried adding in some orange juice as liquid calories but I stopped using it as it irritated my throat. Do you guys have any tips doing a 600km week? This is my first time doing something like this and I have never done any training camp before.

I did the same thing My stay at home holiday challenge

I did it indoors with FulGaz because of the lockdown.

For me it was all about the fuel. I use Science in Sport. I my stomach can handle most things so I wasn’t worried and had used it before. I would eat every hour. I did get some real food as well, not just gels and bars. I got some flapjacks to eat as well.