Peaked - A event over - felt like trash - now feel good - how long for a mid season break?

My A event this year was an unofficial festive 600 (ride 600km in 7 days). I started structured training in February with SSB LV. I then followed the short power build and century plan.

During the second half of the century plan, I started riding for more than 15 hours per week as I would add in more zone 2 to train for the festive 600. I felt powerful during the course of the festive 600 and I also added in some hard efforts to test my legs :slight_smile: I successfully completed the event, and I planned to take a 7-day mid-season break.

Day 1 was terrible as I started having some sore throat. Day 2 was the same as day 1, but I started feeling better on day 3 with almost no sickness. I felt physical, and mentally fresh on day 4, and today (day 5). My motivation levels are higher than what it was at the start of the specialty (century) phase, and I am eager to get back on the bike. I have read this article https://www.trainerroad.com/blog/training-plan-guide/#drop4, as coach Chad recommends 1-3 weeks time off from structured training.

Is a mid-season break supposed to be 7 days completely off the bike? I have taken 5 days off and my motivation levels are higher than before, but I would like your opinions. I plan on doing some unstructured riding for the next 2 weeks before I start building a next peak for a fake event that I created through the plan builder.

I seem to remember Amber mentioning something interesting during one of the Podcasts.

When she took a break and her motivation to train was peaking, she gave herself just one more day of rest. When she started to train, she knew that she was able and willing to train. I’m going to try this myself come October.