Noobie 3 quick questions

I am new to cycling and a week or so away from starting trainer road software but I just have a few questions about the bikes and gear. I have an Argon 18 with Ultegra group-set that I bought locally and got fitted as part of the purchase. I have done 2 rides 14 miles each. With no adjustments or maintenance.

1. Chain maintenance. Is there a rule of thumb? Specific chain lube better than others? Should I be maintaining the chain after every ride or every week etc?

2. My left hand falls asleep pretty bad 6 or 7 miles into the ride both times. The fitter was giving me so much info I forgot a lot of what he said causes certain things.

3. Is there a specific tire pressure or rule of thumb for tires? The bike has vittoria zaffiro 700 x 25c.

The shop told me to bring the bike back after 2 months for a free inspection and look over. He said they will tighten everything back down and make adjustments. I just want to make sure I get it there in one piece in 2 months!

Thanks for any help

A lot of variables. Like if you ride out, if it was wet, etc.
Some lubes last longer than others. I use Rock N Roll Gold (lube and clean) and I apply it about every 3 weeks or so. When i was riding out more often, i would lube once a week.

When i had that issue, i start wearing gloves (out door) but also changed the tape and put gel stuff under it. It made a huge difference.

Indoor doesnt matter. Out door I usually go for for 110 psi of 25 tires.

1 Like
  • Contact your fitter, describe your issue(s) and have them make a recommendation.
    • We would be guessing at best, without knowing more about your specific setup or goals.
  • For riding outside:

• For riding a wheel-on trainer:

• You typically want the the tire set close to or right at the maximum pressure that is molded into the tire sidewall.
3 Likes