My Journey: One year with TrainerRoad

Today marks my one year anniversary with TrainerRoad. I figured I use the opportunity and share my journey with you. As I don’t want to make this a long read I will let the chart do most of the talking.

Before we come to that some background information:
(1) Male, 31 years old, 66 kg, 177cm tall (145 lbs and 5’8)
(2) Running and swimming background
(3) Complete novice on the bike (bought it and my Neo summer 2018)
(4) No race goals before 2023
(5) Management job with a one hour commute and frequent business trips

I started with little Zwift experience in my legs on 186 watts and 72 kilograms. My FTP is now at 270 watts and my weight at 66 kg, which places me right at 4.1 watts per kilogram.

The red bars indicate vacations. The blue bars indicate periods where I deviated from the plan (e.g. doing less or more).

Not shown in the chart is TSS from 2019 which is to be attributed to running and kayaking. I used to track that via the Apple Activity app. I would assume on average around 150ish TSS or so. To get a better understanding of my training I track my running now also via TrainerRoad.

My obviously highly anecdotal and personal key findings are:
(1) Consistency is key.
(2) Don’t be off the bike for more than a week.
(3) You can always do more (at least almost always).
(4) Don’t expect to improve when on pain killers (as seen in SSBHV1).
(5) Endurance and tempo are doable when having a cold. Intensity not so much.
(6) Running can mess up your legs quite significantly.
(7) Be patient, you might just be a workout away from a bump.
(8) FTP testing is not necessary. Reference workouts do the trick just fine.
(9) I need to do Vo2max/anaerobic session once per week.
(10) You don’t need to do hours of endurance work to generate a broad base. 2-3% HR decoupling for 2-3 hours of sweet spot work is achievable with the sweet spot approach.