MTB/gravel shoes for road

Hi all, looking for a pair of shoes for road cycling that take an mtb (ie two bolt) cleat. Any recommendations or experiences appreciated. Lighter better, stiff good but don’t need the stiffest thing going.

Replacing Giro Rumbles. Options I’m looking at so far -

fizik x5 terra (£110)
giro empire (£200)
shimano rx8 (£175).
(All prices fairly good reductions on rrp just nbow)

Thanks in advance!

I could swear this came up before.

Shimano RX8. VR90 is fine too, but different. Laces, more rubber on the bottom, can take spikes, etc.

RX8 looks more “road”, it is a trimmed MTB shoe, less rubber, no spikes.

Don’t have the X5, can’t comment on that.

1 Like

Thanks! I was leaning towards the shimanos.

I probably should have had a search first.

I’m still fairly new to road cycling and haven’t tried road cleats, but I do wonder why there’s not more in the way of road shoes that that take mtb cleats. The walkability factor seems a no brainer to me, for convenience and safety. Actually aware of two cyclists out of the not that large number I’ve met that have seriously injured themselves slipping on road cleats in the last six months.

And you won’t slip and fall on your butt when you step on a puddle.

1 Like

All the road shoes I’ve owned have had very little rubber. Barely any at all, in fact. So little that they’d be a slipping risk regardless of what cleat you put on it.

To make it stable and good for walking or running up hills, you’d have to add rubber. Add enough rubber, and don’t you just wind up with . . . an MTB shoe?

3 Likes

Started this thread below asking a similar question a few months ago. Love my RX8’s, use them for all my bikes now.

2 Likes

I know but there does seem to be somewhere in between mtb and road, basically like the shoes I’m looking at epecially the shimano rx8. My questions more why are these shoes more common.

Thanks @shawrx. That’s confirmed the rx8s for me.

How do you find the fit?