I can see how this might work

Sorry this is a bit of a journal to start…

I’ve been training for several years now, but haven’t seen the gains I’d like. I did have a cycling coach, but although I saw minor improvements, but not really worth the cost.

I’ve always been a consistent athlete so dropping off has been to much an issue.

I started this season 16 weeks ago. 4 weeks into the season I started TR, so I’ve been at it 10 weeks. I picked the low volume plan and I haven’t missed a ride (however I do switch the weekend ride for more of a unstructured longer ride) and I often pickup a 4th day of 40.% effort recovery riding.

I definitely feel more endurance (I had a 116 km ride last weekend and a solid climb earlier in the week to “test out” the training given there are no races). So I have the endurance down, but at a very low FTP. I can see how TR can work though by getting me out of a cycle of strolling a bit too much and going consistently hard,

One of my goals is to hold 200 watts for 1 straight hour. I’ve been extremely close the last few season but never hitting it. This is going to be that year. I think more than anything it’s getting used to be comfortable being uncomfortable. My ah ha moment.

The other goal is to get my diet in better order. Im 230 lb and most of it’s crap eating. So I’ve got to get that in check for sure.

So I am interested in your “ah ha” moment with TR that you realized “oh that’s what I’ve been doing wrong”? And what was your main mistake?

My ‘a-ha’ moment was completing all the workouts in a block, and making sure that I did so even if I had to drop the intensity in the last interval or so, if I was tired.

Also - conversely, if I was feeling strong, upping the intensity in the last interval or two.

After this I’d say the advice from the podcast on these areas in no particular order:

• sleep
  • nutrition
  • structure & consistency
  • function overreaching as opposed to chronic fatigue