How long does it take you to regain your lost fitness after an off season break?

I just took a two-week off-season, and then did one week of unstructured riding with some strength work. The second week, I started my training with sweet spot base low volume part 1. I am a high-volume trainer i.e I mostly add unstructured zone 2 rides to my training so my actual riding volume per week is around 8+ hours/week.

Today I did a two-hour endurance ride and noticed that I had a hard time getting up the hills as I just wasn’t capable of producing the power that I was previously able to and this is not really a surprise to me given that I took some substantial time off my bike and any form of exercise. How long does it take on average to regain the fitness you have lost as a result of the off-season break? I would also like some tips on easing in and gradually increasing the volume after a break.

I’ve got a couple datapoints. The most recent was a 5 week off-season including getting sick twice. Restarted training the 1st week of October, now in my 6th week and both threshold and zone2 power/HR are back to my peak fitness this year (May 2021). Averaged around 7 hours/week this year, and that includes lower leveling of cycling this summer plus the 5 week break. I did something similar in 2017, for a November climbing event. My belief is that the quick rebound this year was doing more disciplined zone2/3 work the past 14 months.

3 Likes

It varies, but up to 2X the amount of time you took off, so 4-6 weeks. Or you could be back next ride, who knows.

Not to worry though, the point isn’t get back to your old fitness as quickly as possible, but instead to break through your last season’s plateau, and oftentimes you need that dip.

3 Likes

This.