ERG lagging and weird HR readings

Two problems:

1. I have an Elite Suito which I use in ERG mode, with an iPad Air 2. With my Assioma and Speedplay pedal power meters, it takes 2-3 seconds to settle into the power zone when I change cadence, and my power graph is fairly flat (with a bit of noise).

But last night I used my new bike which has a Quarq spider PM, and it now takes 10 seconds or more to settle into the power zone. The general power fluctuations are about the same as with the other PMs, provided I keep my cadence constant - any variation in cadence and the power goes up or down by 20-30 watts and takes ages to get back to where it should be. I calibrated both the turbo and PM before I started riding, but this seems to be more of a communication issue than a calibration one.

1. I use a Coros Apex Pro watch for running/fitness tracking etc. The HR is fine, it sometimes under-reads on a hard effort but it’s fine. But when I use it to broadcast my HR to TR through my iPad, the HR reading is overwritten by the cadence reading. I thought it might be an issue with my Assioma, but the same thing happened with the Quarq I was using last night (although it seemed ok when I first started, then after I paused and restarted when I forgot to turn my fan on, and the HR dropped down to match the cadence again). HR readings are fine with my Wahoo Tickr Fit.

Can anyone help with either of these problems? TIA

The Suito is extremely laggy with ERG. My solution which isn’t actually a solution is to use resistance mode. I’m not sure what is going on with your cadence/ HRM thing perhaps support@trainerroad.com will help you out with both issues.

Per #1, are you using EXACTLY the same gearing on your new bike as you were on your old bike?

• If not, you are altering the flywheel speed which can impact the performance and reaction time of the trainer in ERG mode.