Did I mess up my ramp test results?

Hi there,

Quick background: I’m a NorCal Cat 3 road racer who’s consistently in the top 10 (but not quite top 5). I was a competitive runner and mtb racer prior to being a roadie.

Issue: I’m new to TR and just got started. I didn’t start SSB MV1 until today. However, I took a ramp test three days prior to officially starting (out of curiosity) and had a w/kg result of 4.02, with FTP of 241. When I took the first ramp test it was early in the morning and I hadn’t eaten anything. Today, I took the first official ramp test of SSB MV1 after work and was quite full of food/energy. My w/kg for this ramp test was 4.28, with FTP of 256. I made sure to calibrate my Quarq Dzero power meter before the test. I noticed that by the last minute I was holding significantly lower than the required watts but still held on as hard as I could.

Question: Does food/energy make THAT big of a difference or did I mess up the result by holding low-ish watts for the last minute? Also, if I go with the higher FTP, is there a risk of over training? And if I go with the lower FTP, is there a risk of under training? It’s a 15 watt difference in FTP’s but I figure that could totally skew my training zones.

To be completely honest, 4.02 sounds pretty consistent with where I think I am (top-ish tier of Cat 3), especially in December. 4.28 would be amazing but I’m not confident that that is where I am.

Any insight would be super helpful for this TR newbie.

Thank you in advance!

The ramp test takes the highest power put out for a minute, so you can’t mess it up by carrying on, even if you can’t make demand power anymore.

I think food/energy can have an effect, and I also think there is a learning curve to the ramp test. And, depending on the ftp guess you put in before you very first ramp test, the first test might be longer or shorter than ideal, which might skew the results.