COVID Vaccine Shots and Training

So I got COVID vaccine today. I got the Pfizer one which can reportedly make you feel miserable for a day of two- something to keep in mind while training. I’m in 3rd week of modified ssblv where I’m finding 90 minute versions of 60 min work outs and adding a zwift race in for about 450 tss a week. Post shot I did Spencer +3 which is 7x3 min vo2 max intervals - so far so good. Thinking may need to start rest week early depending on how I feel but will see. Will post back with my experience

25 Likes

Getting mine Sunday. Good to know and luckily next week is a recovery week.

2 Likes

Wow you’re in the exact same boat as me. I get mine Sunday and I was wondering if I should move my rest week up early. I figured I’d keep things the same and just play it by ear.

Some of the pulmonologists I work with (I’m an ICU nurse) have said that it is typically the second dose vaccine that can result in the fever and general malaise following the vaccine. I’m 2 days post vaccination and haven’t had any issues yet.

10 Likes

Great thread!!

1 Like

Got mine Wednesday and felt completely fine yesterday (Thursday) but didn’t have a workout planned due to work. Hopped on the bike this morning and legs felt like garbage. Body as a whole feels fine, but couldn’t ask much of my legs, ended up doing Z2 instead of the SS90% I had planned. Still unsure if it’s the vaccine or my previous buildup.

I’ve been doing 3 SS90 workouts a week plus an over/under, so I’ve had a good amount of intensity. And I did McAdie Wednesday after getting poked and it went fine. Thinking I just needed another days rest. We’ll see how I feel tomorrow.

(Plus I’ve been pulling 12-hour shifts at work for a week now so that’s probably not helping either.)

4 Likes

You’re going to get into some very confusing, very complex weeds here pretty quick.