Climbing while in the big ring?

I just started riding in groups and I have noticed that a lot of riders use the big ring while climbing. A lot of the climbs are 30 to 90 seconds long and range from anywhere between 4% to 8% gradient. When I ride solo, I usually shift into the smaller chainring to get through the climb but I will get dropped if I do that while I am in a group. The climbs are a bit explosive i.e I need to go into my anaerobic zone to keep up with the group. My FTP is 308W which is around 4.0 to 4.2 watts per kilo. Any tips on how do I not get exhausted while in the big ring and how do I keep up with such a group on climbs? I have completed S=sweet spot base low volume 1, sweetspot base low volume 2, short power build low volume and I am currently in the first week of century specialty.

Your main issue is not really big ring vs little ring. It’s more about power and pacing. Solo, you can aim to keep a more steady and flat power, like Time Trial effort. But in a group, you are subject to the pace set by those at the front. No surprise that people hit short rises like you mention with some gusto. May or may not be meant to split a group, but it often is a deliberate stress. You can control a bit with your precise gearing and hitting cadences that are more to your liking, but if you want to roll with the group, you are effectively required to match the power in whatever gear works best for you.