Any auto body painters or techs, train?

Hey all, I work at a collision center as a lead painter. By the end of the day my feet calves and legs are tired. Between prepping cars, spraying all the cars, in and out of the booth all day, etc… it makes it tough to have the extra energy to Get on the trainer. Just curious if anyone in the same industry experiences the same thing and how do you cope? Thanks

There’s probably not a good solution to your exact question.

I’d recommend an alternative - work out before you wear yourself out.

1 Like

I’ve been a bike tech for years. Not as demanding perhaps but just being on your feet all day, usually on concrete doesn’t really lend to great feeling legs by days end. I started doing all my workouts in the AM, at least the hard ones and it works for me. The trade off is being less than fresh for a shift but in the big picture it’s the way to go if your schedule allows.

Now I do switch things up once the weather improves and I’m able to do a lot of easier z2 outdoor rides after work. I find that if I keep the intensity low for those it helps me sleep as well. I got through some rough times in my life with easy post work rides. If I go hard after work I just know that sleep will be affected negatively and I accept that. Otherwise all my hard stuff is scheduled in the AM.

1 Like

Thanks for your responses. I’m usually exhausted by the time I get home. I know working out in the a.m. might be best. I’ve never been much of a morning person, but I might need to try it out. The workout I had tonight was donner, I think it’s 95-98% of ftp for 12 minutes. Almost 10 minutes Into the first 12 minute block and I was cooked. It wasn’t my night!

I’m not really a morning person either. I’ve gotten pretty good, if I do say so myself, at being consistent with workouts, digging deep, and finishing the vast majority of any workout my physiology permits on a given day.