Nationals, VO2 Max, Rotating Mass and More – Ask a Cycling Coach 214

Cheers! I was wondering if that would work with tubulars as I’ve just gotten a set on a bike I bought and it would make them a lot less worry inducing to use :smiley: but I dont see any references to that working online.

I doubt that the dynaplug would work with tubulars. They are a plug for fixing tubeless tires. They seal up the hole in the tire itself. With a tubular you’d also need to seal the hole in the tube.

Agree. Answers to both these would be interesting.

A can of pitstop is the generally accepted method for repairing tubulars on the road

1 Like

Regarding the question on 3 Watts/Kg limit, is there an age component to this? I am 53 and at 2.3 W/Kg. Would love to get up to 3 and just wanted to know if Chad’s comments would apply to my age. Just to add I am new to cycling (2nd year) and have one winter of TR where is did Low Volume Base 1 & 2 twice. Now just riding outdoors in a group.

This post has W/kg in age buckets to give a good perspective of TR users at least.

1 Like

I came across this article while researching about the accuracy of Garmin’s Vo2Max estimate

It seems to indicate minor differences in the numbers when using chest straps.

one more “Epic” long course to include a bucket list Tour De France climb :heart_eyes:

That is the Alpe D’Huez long course, their website doesn’t load for me, but is meant to be http://alpetriathlon.com/en

You get to ride three mountain passes: the Alpe du Grand Serre (1375 m), the Col d’Ornon (1371 m) and the climb up to Alpe d’Huez itself with its 21 switching bends

Thank you for talking about triathlon again and if @Jonathan @Nate_Pearson @chad all do a triathlon I think that would be great.
What do you think about bumping up the year to 2020 and doing a 70.3?
You can still do a full IM in 2021?
I think your experiences for a 70.3 could have a broader relevance to more listeners.